Homfa 5 Tier Wooden Shoe Rack Organiser Natural Wood Shoes Storage Unit Shelf

I was not expecting too much from this shoe rack as usually self assembly furniture tends to be lightweight and shoddy. In fact I was pleasdantly surprised.

Following the advice of a fellow reviewer I unpacked this outside and I was very glad that I did as the internal thin polystyrene had broken up and a snow storm quickly developed as the box unpacked. Al;l the contents were in good condition with none of the imperfections or damage noticed by other reviewers. The only issue evident to me was that some of the pre drilled holes for the external slipper brackets were too tight or imperfectly made. This was easy enough to correct during assembly. The wood was all pre stained and attractive enough albeit a little on the red side of brown for my taste.

Assembly was easy enough and the included instruction sheet was easy to follow although it was pretty self evident how to proceed. All the screw holes were pre drilled and accurate (aside from the ones for the metal slipper brackets) and it took me no more than ten minutes to assemble the unit.

Once put together I was impressed by how robust the unit seems – at least compared to some I have made in the past – and the it seems pretty wobble free and stable with the shelves feeling they are unlikely to sag with normal use. The shelves are quite narrowly spaced and far enough apart for normal shoes or trainers only. It is a pity no plugs were supplied for the screw holes as the stainless steel screw heads are rather noticeable and ugly. A few plastic push in caps would not have added greatly to the price.

This is an attractive shoe stand when assembled, easy to put together and apart from a couple of minor issues well worth the money.

Full Disclosure: I received this product free or at a discount in exchange for a fair and honest review.

The Good
Good build quality
Easy to assemble
Pre stained wood
Rigid and wobble free

The Bad
Messy packaging
Some pre drilled holes blocked
Visible screw heads
Cheaper rivals available
Shelf height limited

For more information and purchase.