Logitech MK270 Wireless Keyboard and Mouse Combo

I have used several wireless keyboard/mouse sets in the past but I have to say that for the price this is probably the best.

The combo arrived presented in an upmarket product box of the sort expected from a well known company like logitech. In the box was the keyboard, mouse, USB key and a warranty leaflet. To my surprise there was no User Guide as such although none is really needed as all you have to do is plug the thing in and turn it on. A User Guide is available from the Logitech website and I include a scan of it on the end of my unboxing video.

Unlike the others I have used this is a full sized keyboard and has a traditional desktop deep key travel feel. If you are accustomed to laptop type keyboards this may not be for use as it is quite noisy in use and requires old style heavy
keystrokes. It has all the usual keys in UK format and includes the Windows key and a short set of non standard keys at the top for email, browser, audio volume etc. There is an easy to find Off/On switch on the top right to reduce battery drain and lightweight kick stand supports on the back.The mouse is pretty much standard, medium sized with three buttons and a scroll wheel.

Both the keyboard and mouse works instantly once the USB key was inserted and the keyboard turned on. Unlike with others I have used there was no annoying latency or dropped keystrokes. I found I could walk away from the keyboard for several minutes and return to where I left off without having to wake the keyboard up.

The keyboard uses two AAA batteries (supplied) and the mouse one AA battery (also supplied). Many rivals have built in rechargeable batteries and it is a matter of personal choice which system is better. Take note that the keyboard cannot be used with a USB cable as many rivals can.

The User Guide mentions the Logitech Unifying software that can be downloaded from the Logitech website to acts as an interface and control panel for this and other Logitech wireless products. I installed it on my Windows 10 machine but despite my best efforts it did not detect the installed USB key. This is no big deal as the keyboard/mouse set works perfectly well without it.

This is an excellent desktop set and offers the best build quality and usability of any I have used. For the £16.97 Amazon price it is a remarkable buy.

The Good
Single USB key
Good build quality
No latency
Great price

The Bad
No User Guide
Logitech software did not work
Deep key travel
No internal battery
No USB cable use option.

More info and purchase