HowiseAcc Magnetic Bluetooth Sweatproof Sport Earphones X8 iMetal (SV0370)

Priced at just £9.99 from Amazon I was not expecting too much from this budget headset but in fact I was very pleasantly surprised by their performance. Having tried them blind I would have expected to pay around £30-£40 for them.

In the small, plain but eco friendly little box was the headset themselves, a carry bag, two additional pairs of differently sized earbuds, a short USB to micro-USB charging cable, a tie-back clip and a large, well written and easy to read User Guide. A User Guide is not really needed for this sort of headset as it obvious how to use them but nevertheless I will include the Guide on the end of my unboxing video. Switch to full screen and pause to read it.

Build quality seems fine, the metal earpieces seem robust and well made. The earbuds are quite large and tend to project outwards a bit too much for my taste but once in place are comfortable enough but could be a bit more securely fixed. However, experimenting with the other earbuds included might solve that. There are three sets of buds in all and a single set of pre installed wings. One selling point is that the metal
earpieces are magnetic and can be clipped together for around the neck storage when not in use. This does work but I found the magnetic link to be less strong than with some rivals I have tried. The cable connecting the two earpieces I found to be quite short compared to some others and I had no need of the little clip included to secure the cable behind the neck.

Usually cheap headphones have poor audio but not so here. I was pleased and surprised to see the new AptX audio codec supported and although I doubt that it would add much to the audio quality nevertheless it is a feature usually reserved for the latest high end headsets. Sound quality was excellent. There is a decent level of bass and although it is no rival to Dr Dre’s it is better than on most in-ear Bluetooth headsets I have tried. Mid tones are clear and well defined with non of the muddiness common to cheap headsets. All the instruments could be heard separately and clearly. Higher frequencies are again sharp and clear although for me perhaps a little too abrasive at times, but that can be down to my personal preferences.

For the price this is a great buy. A decent quality well made headset with a full range of accessories, an excellent User Guide and a very much above average sound quality.

The Good
Great price
Good sound quality
Magnetic earpieces
Excellent User Guide
AptX
Eco friendly packaging
Easy to use in-line controls

The Bad
Audio a bit abrasive (for me)
Magnetic link weak
Cable too short
More info and purchase